What States Have Reciprocity With Colorado

Title: What States Have Reciprocity With Colorado?


Reciprocity agreements between states allow individuals with valid concealed carry permits to carry their firearms across state lines, provided the states involved have an established reciprocity arrangement. For residents and visitors of Colorado, it is essential to understand which states have reciprocity with Colorado to ensure compliance with local laws and regulations. This article aims to provide an overview of the states that have reciprocity with Colorado and answer frequently asked questions related to concealed carry reciprocity.

States with Reciprocity Agreements with Colorado:

As of 2021, Colorado has established reciprocity agreements with the following states:

1. Alabama
2. Alaska
3. Arizona
4. Arkansas
5. Florida
6. Georgia
7. Idaho
8. Indiana
9. Iowa
10. Kansas
11. Kentucky
12. Louisiana
13. Michigan
14. Mississippi
15. Missouri
16. Montana
17. Nebraska
18. Nevada
19. New Hampshire
20. North Carolina
21. North Dakota
22. Ohio
23. Oklahoma
24. Pennsylvania
25. South Carolina
26. South Dakota
27. Tennessee
28. Texas
29. Utah
30. Vermont
31. Virginia
32. West Virginia
33. Wisconsin
34. Wyoming

Please note that reciprocity agreements may vary depending on the type of permit held and the specific regulations within each state. It is essential to review the latest reciprocity information from the respective state authorities before traveling.

See also  What Do I Need to Get an Arizona License

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs):

1. Can I carry a concealed firearm in states that have reciprocity with Colorado?
Yes, if you possess a valid concealed carry permit from Colorado and the state you are visiting has an established reciprocity agreement.

2. Are there any restrictions on concealed carry in reciprocity states?
Each state has its own regulations regarding concealed carry. It is crucial to familiarize yourself with the specific laws and restrictions of the state you plan to visit.

3. How can I find up-to-date information on concealed carry reciprocity?
It is advisable to regularly check the official websites of the respective state’s law enforcement agencies or consult reliable sources such as the U.S. Concealed Carry Association (USCCA).

4. Can I carry a firearm in states without reciprocity agreements with Colorado?
Carrying a firearm in states without reciprocity agreements may not be legal. It is crucial to respect the laws of the state you are visiting and abide by their regulations.

5. Are there any states that do not recognize Colorado concealed carry permits?
While Colorado has reciprocity agreements with many states, there are a few states that do not recognize Colorado concealed carry permits. Researching the specific regulations of each state is crucial to avoid legal issues.

See also  Why Is There an Egg Shortage in Arizona

6. Can I transport my firearm through states without reciprocity?
Transporting firearms through states without reciprocity agreements is generally allowed if the firearm is unloaded, locked in a case, and inaccessible to the driver or passengers. However, it is advisable to research and comply with each state’s transportation laws.

7. Is it necessary to obtain a separate permit for each reciprocity state?
No, obtaining a concealed carry permit from your home state, such as Colorado, generally allows you to carry in reciprocity states. However, it is essential to verify the specific requirements and restrictions of each state.


Understanding reciprocity agreements is crucial for individuals who wish to exercise their right to carry a concealed firearm while traveling across state lines. Colorado has established reciprocity with numerous states, allowing permit holders to carry their firearms legally. However, it is essential to stay up-to-date with the latest regulations and conduct thorough research before traveling to ensure compliance with local laws. Always prioritize safety, responsibility, and respect for the laws of the states you visit.