Sign up for Travel News

  • 11.01

    TroonFIT Running on the Links Series 4

  • 11.07

    Music in the Garden Fall Concert Series

  • 07.23

    5th Annual Prescott Film Festival

Full Event Calendar
  • Kartchner Caverns: One of the Great Wonders of the World!

    Enjoy round trip transportation from Sierra Vista to experience a stunning limestone cave that boasts world-class features.

  • Manager Special 15% Off - Best Western Inn of Tempe

    Needing a room for one or two nights while in Tempe, AZ? Then stay at the Best Western Inn of Tempe, we'll treat you to an exclusive deal with the Manager's Special - 15% off our best available rate!

More Travel Deals
My Destinations Chat


Governor’s Tourism Awards Honor Leaders in the Industry

July 11, 2006

(602) 364-3724
(623) 826-8282 – cell

Governor’s Tourism Awards Honor Leaders in the Industry

Governor Janet Napolitano announced the winners of the 2006 Governor’s Tourism Awards on Tuesday during the Governor’s Conference on Tourism at the Loews Ventana Canyon Resort in Tucson.

Governor Napolitano joined Arizona Office of Tourism (AOT) Director Margie A. Emmermann and Deputy Director Karen T. Scates in presenting the awards during a luncheon with more than 500 tourism industry members from both the private and public sector in attendance. The conference took place July 10-12 and was sponsored by AOT, the Arizona Tourism Alliance, the Arizona Hotel & Lodging Association and the Arizona Restaurant & Hospitality Association.

Awards were presented in the following categories: Cooperative Marketing, Innovative Promotions, Special Events (Rural and Urban) and Arizona Preservation . AOT also honored individual achievements in the categories of Tourism Champion of the Year, Tourism Hall of Fame and Spirit of Service. Thirty-nine nominations were submitted for the seven award categories. Winners are selected based on general evaluation of qualifications such as exceptional efforts, innovation, uniqueness and measurable results. The judging committee was comprised of a selection of tourism industry representatives from around the state and AOT staff.

“Each year, it is an honor to recognize the individuals and organizations who demonstrate dedication and commitment to the tourism industry,” Governor Napolitano said. “Their hard work contributes to the quality of life for all Arizona residents, and they are truly leaders in this industry.”

The complete list of winners is attached and will be posted at

Created as an executive agency in 1975, the Arizona Office of Tourism is charged with enhancing the state economy and the quality of life for all Arizonans by expanding travel activity and increasing related revenues through tourism promotion and development. AOT works to serve the Grand Canyon State’s travel industry and related businesses, the traveling public, and the taxpayers of Arizona.

Bookmark and Share
Rocket Fuel